Gotham Gazette

The Place for New York Policy and politics

Citizens Union
Who's Running For What

See all elections listings

Enter the name of an office or candidate to begin.

eg. Christine Quinn, State Senate 21, City Council

Photo of Mark  Levine

Mark Levine (D, WF)

  • Funds Raised: $122,486.00
    Source: New York City Campaign Finance Board


    Twitter | Facebook | Website

    Biography: Mark Levine began his career as a bilingual science teacher in the South Bronx, eventually serving as Executive Director of the New York chapter of Teach for America. In addition to his background in education, Mr. Levine has a record in community outreach. Since 2007, he has served as Northern Manhattan's Democratic district leader and, in 2009, he created his own Democratic Club (The Barack Obama Democratic Club of Upper Manhattan, named after his work on the 2008 Obama Presidential Campaign). Additionally, he founded Neighborhood Trust, a community development credit union, to help low-income residents secure financing for home ownership, education and business endeavors. A graduate of Haverford College and Harvard, he currently resides in Washington Heights with his wife and two sons.

    (source: http://www.votelevine.com/about)

    declared running for:

    City Council for District 7 (Campaign Website)

    OTHER CANDIDATES RUNNING FOR City Council for District 7:

    Robert Jackson (D, WF) Subject to term limits in 2013 (won general election) · Alicia D. Barksdale (D) (declared) · Mark T. Otto (D) (declared) · Zead Ramadan (D) (declared) · Luis M. Tejada (D) (declared) · Manuel Lantigua (D) (declared) · Ruben Dario Vargas (D) (declared) · Joyce Johnson (D) (declared) · David Sasscer-Burgos (D) (declared) · 

    defeated in primary running for:

    State Senate for District 31 (Campaign Website)

    OTHER CANDIDATES RUNNING FOR State Senate for District 31:

    Adriano Espaillat (D, WF) (won general election) · Francesca M Castellanos (D) (disqualified) · Rafael Figuereo (D) (disqualified) · Anna Lewis (D) (defeated in primary) · Miosotis Munoz (D) (defeated in primary) · Stylo A Sapaskis (R) (defeated in general election) · Raphael Klapper (C) (defeated in general election) · Ann J. Roos (G) (defeated in general election) · Guillermo Linares (D, WF) (declared) · Kenneth Schaeffer (WF) (declared) ·