Quantcast

Gotham Gazette

The Place for New York Policy and politics

Citizens Union

Opinion

Opinion

Op-Ed: Turning The Tide On Rent Law Enforcement

Jun 07, 2013

New York’s rent regulation system is defined by two competing forces: we are a city of renters, with a proportion of tenants to home owners (two-to-one) almost the exact inverse

Last Updated (Wednesday, July 30, 2014 03:17 PM)

 

Op-Ed: Poor People Can't Bank on Banking Services

Jun 06, 2013

NEW YORK — There's a joke about banking: That it's only for people who don't need it. If you really need a loan you won't qualify, but if you don't it'll

Last Updated (Wednesday, July 30, 2014 03:17 PM)

 

Op-Ed: The Coming Urban Crisis is Already Here

May 23, 2013

“For the past several years all the ingredients have been in place for an urban crisis,” New York University's Patrick Sharkey wrote recently, in a thoughtful New York Times opinion

Last Updated (Wednesday, July 30, 2014 03:18 PM)

 

6 Months After Sandy, A Financial Disaster For Homeowners

Apr 28, 2013

Yesterday marked the six-month anniversary of Superstorm Sandy, an unprecedented disaster that has left many New Yorkers still struggling to recover. Homeowners now face another unexpected hurdle: imminent default on

Last Updated (Wednesday, July 30, 2014 03:18 PM)

 

Op-Ed: The Next Mayor Needs To Make Affordable Housing A Priority

Apr 18, 2013

Job creation, economic development, and neighborhood revitalization will likely be at the top of the next mayor’s agenda, as will the city’s schools, New Yorkers’ health and safety, and environmental

Last Updated (Wednesday, July 30, 2014 03:45 PM)

 

Opinion: An Accessible City For All

Apr 17, 2013

If you've ever tried to hail a cab in Manhattan during rush hour, you know it can be frustrating. Add some rain, and it's almost impossible. But the next time

Last Updated (Wednesday, July 30, 2014 03:45 PM)

 

Op-Ed: A Democracy We Can Believe In

Apr 05, 2013

I have participated in a dozen budget debates since taking office. Each year, I have worked with my colleagues in the Senate and Assembly to make sure that the executive

Last Updated (Wednesday, July 30, 2014 03:45 PM)