City Council Redistricting Commission

Mayor Michael Bloomberg, City Council Speaker Gifford Miller, and Council Minority Leader James Oddo released their appointments to the panel that will redraw the City Council districts according to the 2000 census.

The mayor has appointed:

Ross Brady (Brooklyn), an attorney specializing in immigration law.

Henry M. Calderon (Manhattan), chairman of the East Harlem Chamber of Commerce.

Charles Capetanakis (Brooklyn), a lawyer and former clerk for U.S. District Judge Jose Gonzalez, Jr.

Martha M. Galvez (Brooklyn), a policy analyst at the Citizen Housing and Planning Council.

David Jackson (Manhattan), an investment lawyer and president of the Log Cabin Republicans.

Julie Menin (Manhattan), president of Wall Street Rising.

Victoria Schneps (Queens), president and CEO of Schneps Communications, which publishes a number of publications including the Queens Courier.

Speaker Miller has appointed:

Karen Burstein (Manhattan), a former New York State Family Court Judge and former candidate for New York State Attorney General.

Lorraine Cortes-Vazquez (Bronx), president of the Hispanic Federation.

John Flateau (Brooklyn), director of the CUNY Census Information Center.

Jerome O'Donovan (Staten Island), a former member of the City Council.

Christopher Renfroe (Queens), a criminal defense attorney.

Minority Leader Oddo appointed:

Christian Browne (Manhattan), a former Giuliani legislative affairs advisor.

Anthony Giaccio (Staten Island), an attorney.

Marc Wurzel (Queens), legal counsel to former council minority leader Alfred Cerullo.

According to the City Charter, the mayor appoints seven members, the council majority appoints five members, the minority leader appoints three members. The panel members must be from different boroughs and reflect the racial diversity of the city. The commission must present a preliminary redistricting plan by November in preparation for the City Council elections to be held in 2003.

Posted June 14, 2002.